I have been seriously dreading writing my proposal for the past few months now but I can honestly say it wasn’t nearly as bad as I was expecting. So far I am almost finished with my proposal and am just waiting for some feedback from the team at the OSEEL office. My mentor was so incredibly helpful during this process and so was her grad assistant. They both met with me on multiple occasions and coached me through the entire paper.

One general problem I am having with my proposal is that some of my sections sound repetitive. However I did speak about this with my mentor and she told me that it is completely normal- especially because you want the audience to remember the main points.

Things with my peer mentor have been going very well! Lydia is very supportive and always reminds us of deadlines when they are getting close. I have really enjoyed having her as a mentor this semester and am really looking forward to the rest of this year!

I am looking forward to researching within the field I intend on going into more than anything. I may have mentioned this in a previous post but in the future I want to be an ophthalmologist; so the fact that I will be working on a project pertaining to the eyes and vision is so amazing. Besides that, age related macular degeneration is a rising health risk and if people continue living longer lives it will continue to get more and more prevalent in geriatric patients. Because of this I feel like the research I am doing is really helping someone and who knows may even help me one day too!

Keep Calm-Research On!

Katie Denius

November 11, 2014

