The Research Rookies Reception was this past Monday, December 1, 2014. It was a really nice event attended by many important guests such as President Doug Baker, Mayor Munday of Sycamore, the Mayor DeKalb, representative Pritchard and many other faculty and staff. It was very nice to hear about all the other student’s projects and meet some of their faculty mentors.

I was fairly nervous to give my elevator speech but I luckily took COMS this semester and I think that prepared me to speak. I also made sure to use laments terms and keep my blurb short.

My favorite part was mingling with faculty and community members after the reception. It was a good chance to get to know people and hear more about other people’s research projects!

Keep Calm and Research On!

December 4, 2014

