Blog about the benefits and highlights of working with a faculty mentor.  What is your favorite thing about working with your mentor? Please also provide an update on the progress of your research.  Are you on track with your timeline?  If not, what is different and what have you done to make sure you will finish your project in time? Lastly, please discuss your plans for the summer months. Make sure to include how your summer plans relate to both your academic and career goals.

Working with my faculty mentor has been an unforgettable experience. She has always been available to me when I’ve needed help and even came in on a Saturday one time. My graduate assistant and my entire lab team have been really wonderful to work with as well. I have really enjoyed getting to know them and look forward to the next few months when I am sure I will be spending a lot of time with all of them. My favorite thing about working with my mentor is the feeling I get when she is proud of me and tells me I’ve done a good job. I really appreciate this feeling because this is truly her project I am conducting and I don’t want to let her down so when I do something right it feels even better!

My research project is a little behind the schedule on my timeline because I had to complete lab safety training which took longer to schedule then expected. I did however just complete this last week and will be in the lab later on today for my scheduled hours. I am looking forward to catching up on my project the next few day and then continuing on with my original schedule for the rest of this month and next. I have talked with my graduate assistant about tactics we can use to shorten up a few of the analysis periods and she believes we will have no problem finishing the project by Undergraduate Research and Artistry Day.

This summer I will be conducting research for eight weeks on campus through the McKearn Fellows program. I am hoping that Dr. Gaillard will agree to allow me to stay in her lab and continue my current project with a twist. This is ideal for me because I would like to become an ophthalmologist when I am through school and my research is currently revolving around the eyes.

Keep Calm and Research On!

Katie Denius

2/10/15

