I am so excited to be a Research Rookie again for the 2015-2016 Academic Year, and even more I am really looking forward to being a mentor for the Biological Sciences students.

Research has been such a large part of my experience here at NIU I can’t wait to teach new students about the benefits it can have not only to your education here at NIU but on the relationships you build as well; not only with faculty members and upper-level administrators, but graduate students and other undergraduate researchers as well.

I am continuing my work on Age-Related Macular Degeneration with Dr. Elizabeth Gaillard, luckily she has decided to keep me on in her lab for another year. Writing a proposal was a lot easier the second time around. It was nice being able to use a lot of the background and general knowledge I had on the project and combine those with new ideas to formulate a new direction for the research project.

I can’t wait to see all the wonderful things this year brings to me as a student, mentor and researcher!

Keep Calm and Research On!

Katie Denius

