My research project is going extremely well. I plan on being finished with data analysis for the portion I am presenting at URAD by the end of this week, I will however be continuing my project in the following summer months. I am currently working on a project involving and ECM in invitro RPE cells. I have really enjoyed this experiment because it has given me a chance to really connect my Biology major with my research (completed in the Chemistry Dept.).

This year Research Rookies has helped me grow immensely as an academic and as an individual. Continuing my research project in my lab for a second year has opened up so many opportunities for me. One of which is to travel to a national research conference for the American Society of Photobiologists in May. There I will be presenting my research alongside many of the other graduate students from my lab. The program has also provided me with the wonderful experience of being a mentor.

